How to average a date column?

• Ok so I currently have a report that is grouped by Job#. I basically want to add a field and have it locate the earliest "Sch Start" date in this group for each Machine. I thought about doing an average but can't since this isn't a numerical field. Any ideas how this could be accoplished? I can do this in CR but I'm fairly new to SSRS.

Job # XXXXX (Group)

Part#01 Machine#03 Sch Start 11/25/10

Part#02 Machine#02 Sch Start 11/20/10

Part#03 Machine#04 Sch Start 11/28/10

Part#04 Machine#01 Sch Start 11/25/10

Part#05 Machine#01 Sch Start 11/21/10

Part#06 Machine#04 Sch Start 11/27/10

Part#07 Machine#02 Sch Start 11/27/10

Part#08 Machine#02 Sch Start 11/27/10

Part#09 Machine#04 Sch Start 11/25/10

Part#10 Machine#05 Sch Start 11/25/10

Part#11 Machine#04 Sch Start 11/22/10

Part#12 Machine#03 Sch Start 11/25/10

Part#13 Machine#05 Sch Start 11/23/10

Part#14 Machine#02 Sch Start 11/25/10

Part#15 Machine#01 Sch Start 11/26/10

• rather than the AVG, i think you want the MIN([Sch Start]) for the earliest, or the MAX(([Sch Start]) for the latest date.

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!

• Hm, the only solutions I'd have for you with this puzzle would be in T-SQL code, not at the reporting layer.

If you really wanted a date average, you could take datediffs from 1/1/1900 in days (or hours, minutes, whatever you were looking for) and then dateadd the avg(datediff()) to 1/1/1900 to find the average.

For what you're looking for though, I agree with Lowell above, a SELECT MIN(), MAX() from tbl group by MachineName would be the best bet here.

- Craig Farrell