How can I convert %5B and %5D to [ and ] in a string

• Hi,

I have a string nvarchar(255) and I am try to convert the ASCII codes in it and also extract part of the string.

Here is an example of a value: urn:ADL:CC_LB_SF_EN_D_C_%5BLB_LS_TCD%5D_%5BLB_LS_CotCF%5D_28_1

This is what I would like to convert it to: urn:ADL:CC_LB_SF_EN_D_C_[LB_LS_TCD]_[LB_LS_CotCF]_28_1

Then I would like to select what is between urn:ADL: and the last _

I tried SELECT SUBSTRING(interaction_id, CHARINDEX('ADL:', interaction_id), CHARINDEX('_%5',interaction_id) - CHARINDEX('ADL:', interaction_id) + Len('_%5')) AS substring

to get me started with the part of the string I need, but that SELECT statement gets me: ADL:CC_CLB_SF_EN_D_C_%5

Clearly I am not very good at this string manipulation stuff, but I would like to learn.

What SELECT statement gets me to CC_LB_SF_EN_D_C_[LB_LS_TCD]_[LB_LS_CotCF]_28

Help!

• ;WITH CTE AS
    (
    SELECT 'urn:ADL:CC_LB_SF_EN_D_C_%5BLB_LS_TCD%5D_%5BLB_LS_CotCF%5D_28_1' Original
    ),
    CTE1 AS
    (
    SELECT *,
    REPLACE(REPLACE(CTE.Original,'%5B','['),'%5D',']') SquareBrackets
    FROM CTE
    ),
    CTE2 AS
    (
    SELECT *,
    SUBSTRING(CTE1.SquareBrackets,CHARINDEX('ADL:',CTE1.SquareBrackets,1)+LEN('ADL:'),10000) RemovedADL
    FROM CTE1
    ),
    CTE3 AS
    (
    SELECT *,
    SUBSTRING(CTE2.RemovedADL,1,LEN(CTE2.RemovedADL)-CHARINDEX('_',REVERSE(CTE2.RemovedADL))) Final
    FROM CTE2
    )
    SELECT *
    FROM CTE3

You can combine it all into one expression but it wouldn't be very readable

• That returns urn:ADL:CC_LB_SF_EN_D_C_[LB_LS_TCD]_[LB_LS_CotCF]_28_1 and I need ADL:CC_LB_SF_EN_D_C_[LB_LS_TCD]_[LB_LS_CotCF]_28 returned.  Everything between the urn: and the last _

Also, I should have been clearer.  I have hundreds, if not a thousand of these to convert, so I need a select statement that replaces every occurance of %5B with [ and %5D with ]

For each string, the logic will always be everything between the urn: and the last _