Hadoop for SQL Developers

• Hello People

I am a newbie in the field of SQL Development and have a silly query. I am doubtful about a thing that if Hadoop is easy to learn for SQL Developers. Is it essential to be aware of Hadoop if I'm totally into the field of SQL Development? How much SQL is required to learn Hadoop? Please help with useful suggestions if anyone has any.

• Hi jayarora,

No, I wouldn't expect a junior SQL Developer to know Hadoop.

You mention you're a newbie in the field of SQL development. If you're expected to write T-SQL in your job, or desired job, I recommend solidifying your T-SQL skills before you go and learn Hadoop or any of the other big data analysis solutions.

If your SQL queries are taking too long to run, index tuning and query writing techniques would be a good solution, and those take time to learn. If you come across situations where your queries are still too slow, even with efficient T-SQL queries and indexes, and the server has sufficient resources, it would be wise to look at Hadoop then.

For reference, I've been a SQL Developer for several years, and haven't yet learned Hadoop, as I haven't found it to be a solution to be the a necessary solution to any of the challenges I've faced. However, because I am no longer a junior SQL Developer, I should probably have an awareness of where Hadoop would fit best so I know to go learn that if a specific challenge required it.

Andrew

• I'll second Andrew's take on this.  Focusing on T-SQL until you've really learned the licks is the right thing to do and it will help you quite a bit when you get to Hadoop.  IIRC, Hadoop uses "HQL", which has a lot of similarities to SQL in general.

Just to give you some confidence, I've been doing pretty good with T-SQL and (knocks on wood) haven't yet needed to get into learning Hadoop.