Getting Started

• Good morning everyone! I'm new to SQLServerCentral.com so I apologize if this is the wrong place for this sort of post. I want to get started as a public speaker for MS SQL, specifically, the business intelligence side of things. Where I work at I am the only BI person in the whole company, so I have to do it all from ETL to data warehouse design to surfacing data for end users. I know I know a bit, and can probably give an interesting talk, but I also know there are many, many more intelligent and interesting people out there so doing a talk is a bit intimidating. I thought about recording PowerPoint sessions and posting them to YouTube as a step to get started, but also wanted to get some feedback from experienced speakers.

Specifically, how did you get started, and did you have any problems with self-confidence or were you intimidated by more knowledgeable speakers, and if so, how did you overcome that?

• If there's a PASS user group near you, you could start there. It doesn't need to be from PASS, but it would be the obvious choice.

For general public speaking, visit a Toastmasters Club[/url].

Luis C.
    General Disclaimer:
    Are you seriously taking the advice and code from someone from the internet without testing it? Do you at least understand it? Or can it easily kill your server?

How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help: Option 1 / Option 2
  • I've been speaking publicly for 10 years and I still get nervous and, depending on who is in the audience, I can be intimidated. However, you just keep going. Remember that you own the room when you're in front. I've never been to Toastmasters myself, but lots of people swear by it. I'm just a loud-mouth. That seems to work too.