Getting an error while trying to copy a DB from SS2000 to SS2008

• My current setup is a server with SBS 2003 running SQL server 2000 sp4 and a second server running Windows server 2008 64 bits and SQL server 2008.

I'm trying to migrate a small database from Sql server 2000 to a Sql server 2008 using the Copy database task under Sql server management studio. I'm always getting an error in the last step and i don't know what i'm doing wrong.

I'm getting a Messenger service not running but since i'm pretty new to SQL server 2008, i have no idea how to fix it.

Can someone give me a couple of clue to solve my problem ?

Thank you

• Well, unless you only want to copy a subset of the database, I would not use the copy wizard. Use detach -copy-attach or backup-copy-restore.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

• This is what i've try first, to make a backup copy of the SQL 2000 database and to try to restore it on the SQL 2008 but SQL 2008 didn't recognize the backup file.

Maybe i've didn't do it the right way. I will retry that.

Thank you

• binettec (2/1/2009)

This is what i've try first, to make a backup copy of the SQL 2000 database and to try to restore it on the SQL 2008 but SQL 2008 didn't recognize the backup file.

It should do, providing it was a SQL native backup and you restored using the SQL restore command. What error did you get?

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Ok, the backup restore procedure worked fine.... I've forgot to check the replace Option the first time i've used it.

So much time lost by a so tiny detail.

Thank's

• Woops,

I have now this error while restoring.

There is already an object named 'sysnsobjs' in the database.

Msg 3167, Level 16, State 1, Line 1