Fun with Computers

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Fun with Computers

• My wife told me that spending quality time with your kids is doing with them what they want to do, not what you wanted to do. So I started playing games with my son from the age of 9. We started with games like StarCraft, because I could help when he was in trouble. Between 10 and 12 he became just as good as me, and after that he called his dad a noob. He is now 17 and in the top 5 players in our province. He is a UT2004 player, but lately we have been playing Battlefield 2142. It allows you to chat to your squad members while playing and that adds a lot of fun to the game. And although we spend an hour minimum a day playing(if possible, work and homework allowing it), my wife never complains, because I am doing what she requested. 🙂

5ilverFox
    Consulting DBA / Developer
    South Africa

• From the standard card games, I prefer FreeCell over Solitaire, but I don't play this type of games much. When there are just a few minutes to while away, I sometimes play Minesweeper ... but to be honest, it's pretty boring. I have more fun reading SQLS Central forums :D. Lots of funny things here, like discussions about bankers rounding 😛

But this article was about gaming, so here we go. I relax best at strategic games - good old DOS Civilization was the first great game I played; but best games ever (for me) are city-building strategies Caesar III and Pharaoh... and Guild Wars as best online game.

• Steve

Here are my two favourite games of the moment, both of them are free and simple, so they suit me down to the ground. On top of this, both of these games give you the abillity to either invite a friend or set up a mini league, so great for a little office competition.

http://www.armorgames.com/games/antbuster.html

http://flightsimx.archive.amnesia.com.au/

I warn you tho, they can be addicitive