EXECUTE permission on stored procedures

• Hi,

I'm running MSSQL 2000 (Though I'm a newbie) and this is my problem:

The following text was extracted from Books on Line:

"EXECUTE permissions for a stored procedure default to the owner of the stored procedure, who can transfer them to other users. Permissions to use the statement(s) within the EXECUTE string are checked at the time EXECUTE is encountered, even if the EXECUTE statement is included within a stored procedure. When a stored procedure is run that executes a string, permissions are checked in the context of the user who executes the procedure, not in the context of the user who created the procedure."

Very clear, isn't it??!!

Since now I'm willing to implement NT integrated security, so I stablished permissions on database objects as "I assume" it's needed, specifically, I granted EXECUTE right on an Stored Proc named spa_GetHistory to the user  "User1".

Monthly some user "User2" creates a table containing all the information about the operations of the month. The name of the table is "HistoryYYYYMM", where YYYY is the year and the MM is the actual month.

Under this situation, the user "User1" needs to fetch partial historical data executing the spa_GetHistory stored proc passing the initial and final dates as parameters.

I don't want the User1 to have direct "select" permission on any HistoryYYYYMM, as when any new "user1" is created I need to assign select permisions on all existing HistoryYYYYMMs. By the way, when a new HistoryYYYYMM is created I must set "select" permissions on this table to all user1s.

So... I coded spa_GetHistory, but...... (this is the meat). As the number of tables to consult depends on the initial and final dates supplied, I have to include an EXEC clause that loops through a cursor containing all the table names and selects data from all HistoryYYYYMMs contained in the range and inserting their data into a temp table which is then returned.