Error when trying to use @query parameter with sp_send_dbmail

• Hi,

I don't understand why I am getting an error when I try to run the following statement. I am a SysAdmin and so is the service account the agent runs under. I have tried selecting another table and column and splat and I got the same error.

EXEC [msdb].[dbo].[sp_send_dbmail]

@profile_name = 'DBA TEAM',

@subject = 'DBCC Results',

@recipients = 'lmacdonald@mywebgrocer.com',

@query = 'SELECT MessageText FROM MyWebGrocerUtility.dbo.dbcc_history',

@body_format = 'HTML';

Msg 22050, Level 16, State 1, Line 0

Failed to initialize sqlcmd library with error number -2147467259.

The actual query I am trying to run is below. However I have made it much simpler hoping to slowly to work my way towards it to pin point the issue but it seems any select statement fails.

SELECT TimeStamp, DB_NAME(dbid) + ' ' + MessageText FROM MyWebGrocerUtility.dbo.dbcc_history WHERE error = 8989 and timestamp >= dateadd(dd,-3,getdate())

Thanks for any help, it's getting me very frustrated.

• what's the datatype for MessageText? if it's TEXT and not varchar(max) or a varchar(8000) or less, i'd think you might get an error under the covers for "The data types varchar and text are incompatible in the add operator.", which might be supressed with the error you currently see.

also, does your table have a column dbid what is DB_NAME(dbid) going to return?

since you are using a three part call(MyWebGrocerUtility.dbo.dbcc_history), why not hardcode it to MyWebGrocerUtility?

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!