Ensuring a Single Row Table

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Ensuring a Single Row Table

• Neat solution, but I disagree with this comment:

it happens often that you need to save a list of single values/parameters that are valid, temporarily or stably, for the whole application.

In my (lengthy!) time as a database developer, I can remember setting up such a table only once! That's because updating a single-row table with new 'current' values is equivalent to the deletion of historical data.

Instead, I tend to use effective dates or IsActive flags to achieve the same thing, without removing previous information. You never know when someone might query a number in a report which was generated months ago, where that number depends on the values in your params table.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• and on long run having a key-value table end up being better for this type of things as you always end up requiring more entries added, so better to just insert a row than to change table structure.

• Interesting

• That's because updating a single-row table with new 'current' values is equivalent to the deletion of historical data.

Yes, it is.  There are cases where you don't need the historical data. *

Example:

We store the current application version in the db. That value has a single purpose - if a user didn't get the update, the program notifies them and terminates. (Success rate is above three nines, but we still miss a few)

That's likely the only design decision that hasn't been revisited in its decade+ lifetime.

* Yes, I acknowledge that can sound like blasphemy.