Dynamic SQL - Is it possible in this case

• OK, im fairly new to SQL and have really been thrown in at the deep end. I have a DTS package used to import data to table, I then need to run an update SQL query in order to update certain values in the table dependent upon values stored in another table. The update i am using to do this is as follows (its very messy, but it does what i need it to do):

UPDATE [CAF]

SET [Euro_Value] =

(SELECT [Value] FROM [CAF]

WHERE ([Market_ID] = '*') AND ([Cost_Code] = '†') AND (Euro_Value IS NULL )) /

(SELECT [ExRate] FROM [CURRENCY]

WHERE ([Currency_ID] = '*'))

WHERE (Market_ID = '*') AND (Cost_Code = '†') AND (Euro_Value IS NULL )

Basically, i need to know if i can populate the * and † dynamically using DTSGlobal variables maybe? or if anyone has any other suggestion that i may be able to try, i am open to them.

The reason i want to dynamically populate this is because if i dont, i will end up with over 180 of these statements because of all the varying conditions.

If you need to know anything else, just ask and ill supply the information.

Thanks in advance,

Connor

• does the table CAF have a column called Currency_ID?

Do you want to find the corresponding Rate in the Currency table, based on the Currency_ID, and assign the Euro_Value column to be the Value column * the exchange rate?

(saying what you are tyring to do in regular english, as opposed to showing broken code that doesn't work, will get you answers much faster. sample data and expected results help, too)

if so, is this what you want? :

UPDATE 
        [CAF]
    SET [Euro_Value] = [Value]  / 
        (SELECT [ExRate] 
         FROM [CURRENCY]
         WHERE (CURRENCY.[Currency_ID] = CAF.CURRENCY_ID))
    WHERE 
        ([Market_ID] = '*') AND 
        ([Cost_Code] = '†') AND 
        (Euro_Value IS NULL )