DevOps is Mostly About People

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item DevOps is Mostly About People

• Steve, you've hit upon the biggest issue I contend with at work, concerning trying to get DevOps going; that's changing both people and processes. I'm a developer who I called an Accidental DevOps Engineer because I was given the job of TFS Administrator when the former TFS Admin left. Then later when we sorta tried to get Azure DevOps going I was made the Azure DevOps Administrator. However, like so many other places, the prevailing thought is that you rub a little DevOps (i.e.: whatever DevOps tool you use) on, then presto-chango, you're a DevOps company. But at the end of the day, people don't want to change, and they don't want to change processes. I know that several other places must deal with a similar misconception of what DevOps means to a company and culture.

Rod

• Same. I constantly find people want to make DevOps a set of tools, which my employer sells, and I struggle to get them to realize it's more.

• Doctor Who 2 wrote:

Steve, you've hit upon the biggest issue I contend with at work, concerning trying to get DevOps going; that's changing both people and processes. I'm a developer who I called an Accidental DevOps Engineer because I was given the job of TFS Administrator when the former TFS Admin left. Then later when we sorta tried to get Azure DevOps going I was made the Azure DevOps Administrator. However, like so many other places, the prevailing thought is that you rub a little DevOps (i.e.: whatever DevOps tool you use) on, then presto-chango, you're a DevOps company. But at the end of the day, people don't want to change, and they don't want to change processes. I know that several other places must deal with a similar misconception of what DevOps means to a company and culture.