DBAs and the art of persuasion

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item DBAs and the art of persuasion

• Hi All,

In my case as I am currently reading Brad McGhee's book " The Exceptional DBA", I totally feel that "The Art of persusion" is inherent in almost of us at some point in our lives, whether during Childhood asking for your fav Video game or Tennis Racket or whatever... from your parents, when you gave them *that look* :)..,

convincing your Managers is whole different ball game, especially when it comes to recommending and influencing them that would make your job easier.

I had a similar experience at a company, where I used to be a DBA / Documentation Writer. I was asked to deliver the entire Database documentation, scripts and relevant details within 2 business days. I was really thinking that time, how the heck am I gonna do that :(?

But then with a bit of luck and help from Google. I managed to download a tool and have the documentation done within 15 mins ;).

After I spoke to my Manager, he was so surprised and taken aback that I got that promotion and I convinced them to buy the tool.

Remember Art of Persusion need not always be through words, but through actions that deliver results and can help take the organization forward, and best of all make your DBA life a Dream experiencing Reality.

Cheers!

Anil Mahadev

Senior SQL Server DBA

MISPL

Bangalore

INDIA