DBA Cert advice needed.

• Hi All,

My employer has agreed to pay for me get the MCDBA cert. Due to several reasons I cannot take the courses in class. (Only 1 car and my wife has it, can't get time off during the day, etc.) I've been looking all over the web to try and find a boxed set or recommended books to study from. Chapters and Amazon have some but few of the reader reviews have been positive.

Does anyone know of good boxed sets or books to study for the MCDBA cert? I need to find them all before hand so I can make a proper training plan. If it matters, I have about 3 years dba/programming experience.

Thanks in advance.

Chris.

Chris.

• That's simple for certifications http://www.microsoft.com/mspress/certification/mcdba.asp

In my humble opinion, anything else would be a waste of time.

If you want knowledge, insight, tips and tricks, neat tools, and helpful scripts - Then SQLServerCentral.com is where you need to be. But make the boss happy, besides, it is good to have it on your resume. If to show nothing more then you took the time to take the tests and passed them.

Regards,

Zach

John Zacharkan

• I much prefer a book to a class. The Microsoft Training Guides are a good place to start but they seem to lack the depth necessary to pass the exam. I usually start with the Microsoft book to get5 the basics and to see what material is expected for the exam and then suppliment that other another test oriented book.

Neither of these will take the place of hands-on experience but at least you'll have some guidance on what areas they are testing on.

Steve Hendricks

MCSD, MCDBA

AFS Consulting Group

shendricks@afsconsulting.com

(949) 588-9800 x15

Steve Hendricks
    MCSD, MCDBA
    Data Matrix

shendricks@afsconsulting.com
    (949) 588-9800 x15