Database Mail

• I am new to SQL 2005 and am not a DBA. I have questions for setting up Database Mail. I have spent 2 days searching, which has left me with even more questions. The send test email works but job status notifications aren't sent. To start with:

1. I am using 64-bit SQL SP3 and MS Technet KB908360 says 64-bit is not integrated with mail and has to be set up manually. The article is dated 2007 and mentions SP1 so I am wondering if it is still apllicable.

2. I see Database Mail can be configured per instance but is best practice to use a separate SMTP account per instance?

• kfewer (12/22/2009)

I am new to SQL 2005 and am not a DBA. I have questions for setting up Database Mail. I have spent 2 days searching, which has left me with even more questions. The send test email works but job status notifications aren't sent. To start with:

1. I am using 64-bit SQL SP3 and MS Technet KB908360 says 64-bit is not integrated with mail and has to be set up manually. The article is dated 2007 and mentions SP1 so I am wondering if it is still apllicable.

2. I see Database Mail can be configured per instance but is best practice to use a separate SMTP account per instance?

1. I would follow the suggestions in the article and setup the mapi.

2. 1 SMTP should do.

Jason...AKA CirqueDeSQLeil
    Learn Extended Events

• 1. Database Mail IS supported on 64-bit. This article states that it is "fully-supported on 64-bit".

2. It depends on if you want to be able to identify which instance the mail comes from based on account.

• Have you gone through the steps of setting up an operator under SQL Agent?

After setting up database mail, you have to go under operators in SQL agent and setup an operator. After you setup an operator you have to restart the SQL Agent.

Now, when you go to Notifications on the job properties and check E-Mail your operator should be listed in the drop down box.

• Thanks for your reply, Jack.