Fact Table Update (Design)

• Hi,

Apologies to Jeff & Admin (and everyone this may help) as I took down the original question as I felt it wasn't clear so here goes 🙂

I think the root of the issue / question is when is it considered ok to update a fact. Let me give a concrete example of what I'm facing and a design approach that I've been considering but am unsure of. I work in healthcare and we have (e.g.) a fact table where the grain is one fact per patient appointment. Example surrogate keys would be PatientSK, OutcomeSK (e.g. Attended, Cancelled etc), ContactDateSK etc. Say after an initial load of the Fact table on 01/01/2022 there are say 1,000 appointments for PatientSK of 1234. On 05/01/2022 say there is a Type2 change in Dim_Patient for this patient which creates a new PatientSK of 1235. In my mind this is essentially the same Patient but with a more updated record in the dimension. I understand why in Kimball's Scd2 example you'd want to maintain the link between the historical fact and original surrogate key as it links to the older department which would be crucial for reporting but in the example I gave it could be the Patients gender or ethnicity which was updated so it wouldn't really make sense to report older facts with a surrogate key pointing towards EthnicityA and later facts with a PatientSK linking to a EthnicityB for the same patient (We'd want this as a Type2 change and not Type1). I am trying to ascertain whether the process outlined below makes sense from a dimension modelling standpoint? Given that the target fact table will be temporal would mean that although the underlying surrogate keys are updated daily to the most recent active dimension members, the history is preserved and we could always query the fact table as it was on any particular day by winding back the temporal table (as long as the dimensions were never reloaded so the surrogate key integrity remains intact). Please see final question after the 3 step process below in re