cursor error msg

• I'm new to sql server, and I've been searching thru discussions on this site regarding cursors. I'm having one problem in particular, I can run a query in my development environment, but when I put that query in a cursor, then run the script, I get an error message:

OutputQry: Cursor not returned from query

The much abbreviated code is:

BEGIN

Declare @v_case_nbrvarchar( 20)

Declare @v_case_idchar( 20 )

Declare @ProcErrint

err_messchar( 40 )

DECLARE get_cases CURSOR LOCAL for

SELECT rc.case_id

from dbo.REAL_CASE rc

-- Begin Main procedure --

BEGIN

Open get_cases

WHILE ( 0 = 0) Begin

Fetch Next

Into @v_case_id

From get_cases

END

deallocate get_cases

END

I should mention my development environment is a product called "DB_designer", connected to a SQLExpress 2005 instance running on a desktop PC w/Win2k SP4 w/ 225,000 KB RAM

I'm wondering if this is a resource issue, or am I overlooking something really elementary?

Thanks

• It doesn't appear that the cursor ever stops, so you're running off the end of the result set.

Try

WHILE @@FETCH_STATUS = 0

instead of the 0=0 condition.

0 indicates a successful fetch, anything else should leave the loop.

And then again, I might be wrong ...
    David Webb

• David, thank you, but I got the same result when I made that change:

BEGIN

Open get_cases

WHILE @@FETCH_STATUS = 0 Begin

Fetch Next

From get_cases

Into @v_case_id

END

deallocate get_cases

END

• -- Begin Main procedure --

BEGIN

Open get_cases

WHILE @@FETCH_STATUS = 0 Begin

Fetch Next

From get_cases

Into @v_case_id

END

CLOSE get_cases

deallocate get_cases

END

MG

"There are two ways of constructing a software design. One way is to make it so simple that there are obviously no deficiencies. And the other way is to make it so complicated that there are no obvious deficiencies."
    Tony Hoare

"If you think it's expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur." Red Adair.