Creating a stored procedure with infinite variable

• hi

can anyone help.

I am new to the SQL Server.

I need to input data into a column with the PK (Primary Column) From other 2 tables

I am using a stored procedure to store the data.

Table1

NameIDFirstName LastName

1SamSmallwood

Table2

IDNamesofCD

1CD1

2CD2

Table3

NameIDID

In Real time the Person Sam Smallwood will have more than 2 CD.

In order to create the stored procedure i dont know how many variables to declare in the stored procedure.

I like to know where there is a array datatype in SQL or tell me how to a create a stored procedure with infinite variables

• There is no array data type but there are ways of simulating it.

Create a character parameter and pass the array in as a csv and parse it in the SP. You would probably want to do this in another SP which populates a temp table so thatit is re-usable. This will be limitted by the size of the variable.

Create a temp table in the client, populate it and the SP acts on the temp table (this means that the SP would be recompiled on every run).

Insert row by row into a table containing the spid, logon time and data. When this is complete call the update SP which then gets the data from the table.

Cursors never.
    DTS - only when needed and never to control.

• Not clear what you mean (JAw1977)? You want to write a stored procedure that will insert what? The data from Tables 2 and 3? You would do a join from these two tables to do the insert. If you want to specify "what" rows to insert, then nigelrivet's answer will work. Alternatively, you could specify a range for the stored procedure or use some other qualifier. If you can give an example of the changes the stored procedure needs to make, we can be more helpful.

Steve Jones

steve@dkranch.net

• Thanks for the Idea nigelrivet. (what is csv?)