CLR error when compiling a stored procedure (on some systems)

• My company installs our software on our customers' systems, compiling various SQL objects. On some of the systems (maybe 1 out of 50) an error occurred while compiling two stored procedures that each call a CLR function:

[font="Courier New"]Failed to initialize the Common Language Runtime (CLR) v2.0.50727 with HRESULT 0x80004005. You need to restart SQL server to use CLR integration features.[/font]

After the error occurred during the installation program, I manually tried compiling the procedures, but the same error occurred. After rebooting, without changing anything else, the procedures compiled without error.

I should mention that our customers do not have CLR enabled yet, but that doesn't seem to make a difference here. The procedures will be used in future releases; for now they are just getting compiled but not executed.

I'm new to CLR, but this seems like a memory issue(?)

Do I need to specifically allocate memory for CLR? How do I know how much memory CLR will need when our customers start using it?

On one of the systems that had the problem, I ran the query below. It returned a value of 168, which seems quite low.

[font="Courier New"]select single_pages_kb + multi_pages_kb + virtual_memory_committed_kb from sys.dm_os_memory_clerks where type = 'MEMORYCLERK_SQLCLR'[/font]

Any help or info would be appreciated. Thanks.

• Take a look here:

http://blogs.msdn.com/sqlclr/archive/2006/03/24/560154.aspx

Essentially - CLR uses memory external to SQL, so you may need to increase the "memtoleave" so that CLR has some room to work.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Your lack of planning does not constitute an emergency on my part...unless you're my manager...or a director and above...or a really loud-spoken end-user..All right - what was my emergency again?