CLR Accessing a UNC Share

• Ok, so I'm pretty new to programming for SQLCLR.

My problem is thus:

I'm developing a user defined function in C# that returns a table of image paths. The database is on one server (db), the images are on another (web1) within the same domain. I'm using SQL Server authentication (this function will be used within stored procedures that a few of my websites use).

For the life of me I can't determine which account I need to allow access to on the web1 share.

Anyone have any suggestions?

• Hi Matt,

I am just curious as to why you are using a CLR for this and not just a user defined function? You can use the xp_FileExists function - for example:

EXEC

master..xp_fileexist @MyPath

Which you can wrap in your own logic as necessary and retrun a table or scalar value?

Thanks,

Catherine

Kindest Regards,

Catherine Eibner
    cybner.com.au

• Matt -

See the section Accessing External Resources of http://msdn2.microsoft.com/de-de/library/ms345101.aspx.

If you are running using a SQL Server login you're going to get stomped by SQL Server when you try to access external resources - if you're running using Integrated Security, the context will be that of the SQL Server service account.

Joe

• you will have to:

create a signed assembly in .net  environment

create an asymentic key on sql server for the .net assembly

grant EXTERNAL_ACCESS or UNSAFE permission set to the .net assembly

probably create a login for the asymetric key

Everything you can imagine is real.

• I'm using a CLR because I don't know if there are file(s) or not, nor do I know what their names would be. All I know is the path they should be at if they exist.

So far I've:

Set the assembly to have EXTERNAL_ACCESS (though I didn't sign it, I set the DB to trustworthy and had whatever the permission set I needed to do it)