Change from Full to Simple Recovery, what to do with the Log file?

• I’m new to doing backups and I have a situation with my server not having enough room to do backups. I didn’t set up the recovery modes on the databases initially and I want to make sure I don’t screw anything up with the database or the backups.

I have a server with two large databases (at 15 and 50GB respectively) and I noticed one day that my backups were failing due to lack of space on the drive, I keep the last four days worth of backups and found I only had room for about two days. A bit more investigation revealed that the 15GB database had a log file of 108GB. My 50GB database has a log file of 5GB and activity is more constant on the 50GB database than the 15GB database.

A bit more digging and I found the culprit, the 15GB database was set to Full recovery mode with no log backups being taken while the 50GB database is in Simple recovery mode. Backups are taken nightly of both databases and it is acceptable to lose up to a day’s worth of data.

So, I changed the recovery mode to Simple on the 15GB database and made sure I had room to successfully complete my backups last night. This occurred (successful backups) and the log file is still 108GB for the 15GB database.

In reading some of the articles on backup modes (thanks for the info, Gail), I know that the space in the 108GB log file is now marked as unused. I have a few questions on how to get the log file size reduced.

1) If I leave things as they are, will SQL Server eventually reduce the size of the transaction log for the 15GB database? If SQL Server needs more room to do a backup, will it snag the unused space in the log file?

2) If SQL Server doesn’t reclaim the space for other purposes, then am I correct in thinking that I will need to shrink the log file? If so, how far down do I shrink it? Shrink it to the minimum and then let it grow back as needed? Shrink it to 1GB and see how it goes?