Certification choice-Dev or BI advice please!!

• Hi,

I've been working on SQL Server 2005 for more than 2 years now. I've worked on Database development, design, administration and BI(SSAS,SSRS)....

Having got a 'feel' for all these aspects i want to focus more on Database development, especially BI.

I also want to do a MCTS certification in SQL 2008( this would logically have a better shelf life plus i would learn all the new features while studying for it).

My question is-should i go in directly for the 70-448( MCTS BI cert) or first do the MCTS 70-433(database development).

I have installed a developer version of SQL server 2008 and been playing with it.

My main motive is to learn and focus in one area and that is BI eventually down the road. but since it is my first cert and i am unsure if i will have the time to give many more in the future i am leaning towards the BI track.

What do you think? any thoughts or suggestions?

• I'd say that if your goal is to work in BI then do the BI cert. I also think, and this is just my opinion, that BI is the hot commodity right now and will look better on the resume\CV.

• I would suggest studying for both of the exams, but maybe only taking / focusing on BI. A solid understanding of querying in SQL Server will go a long way. The Certfication will get to the interview, the Understanding of SQL will get you the job.

Just my 2 cents.

• "When you come to a fork in the road, take it." --"Yogi" Berra

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)