Can't deploy reports from BIDS to reporting services

• I am new to SSRS. Been able to design a report using BIDS. When I try to deploy the report using BIDS, the reporting servics login screen keeps prompting for a username and password.

Various attempts to connect using various login credentials failed and the screen persists.

I also tried to use the report manager but it only displays a blank screen without the needed options.

Attempt to use the Report Server url displays the following error:

"The permissions granted to user 'DBA\Barns' are insufficient for performing this operation. (rsAccessDenied)"

My report server service account is "Network Service".

I'll appreciate any urgent help.

Regards

• Hi akumbabarns

I had a similar problem early this week on a freshly installed SSRS 2008 on my development laptop (Windows 7); I will explain the steps I did to resolve my issue.

• Open Reporting Services Configuration Manager
    • Service Account Local System

Report Manager: http://localhost:80/Reports_InstanceName

Close Reporting Services Configuration Manager

We were reviewing the parameters we will need later

• Disable User Account Control Setting
    • Click on the Start button

Type UAC on the Search program and files

Click on User Account Control Setting option

Pull the lever down to Never Notify

Reboot your workstation

We will reset the UAC setting once we finish the whole procedure

• Configuring Report Manager
    • Start your browser Internet Explorer

Type in your Report Manager URL (the one identified on the first block of this procedure)

The Report Manager now renders the Home folder with the Contents and Properties tabs

Click on the Properties tab.

Click on the New Role Assignment button

Assign your account domain/user_name to the Content Manager role.

Click on the Ok button to save the new user-role

Click on the Site Settings link located at the top-right of the browser's window