Breaking into SQL Development job with irrelevant degree

• I am looking to getting into a career as a database developer. I have an unrelated degree...a bachelor's degree in Accounting from a reputable state university. I am a recent graduate by the way and have no real job experience with SQL. I have looked on job boards and do not see many positions in my area, I am in NJ by the way. Not sure if it just me, but these jobs seem scarce to come by.

What can I do to get experience and break into the field? I have this book which I am currently reading:
     Database Systems: Design, Implementation, Management 12th edition by Coronel, Morris    
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1305627482/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

My school did have a more technical major called Management Information Systems (MIS) which probably would have been more relevant to study than Accounting.  I feel like I am sort of stuck and that it is impossible to break into the field of SQL at this point.

Thanks.

• evaslash - Friday, March 2, 2018 8:05 PM

I am looking to getting into a career as a database developer. I have an unrelated degree...a bachelor's degree in Accounting from a reputable state university. I am a recent graduate by the way and have no real job experience with SQL. I have looked on job boards and do not see many positions in my area, I am in NJ by the way. Not sure if it just me, but these jobs seem scarce to come by.

What can I do to get experience and break into the field? I have this book which I am currently reading:
     Database Systems: Design, Implementation, Management 12th edition by Coronel, Morris    
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1305627482/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1