BI Certification

• I have some experience with SQL Server 2005 and Reporting Services but lost my job in the recession. After alot of thought I have decided I want to persue a certification in BI. What would people advise someone who is fairly novice to undertake? I want to learn SSAS and SSIS but I am not sure how to proceed. I will undertake training but am confused by the plethora of options out there. I am quite familiar with old versions of Oracle and development tools but moved across to SQL Server a while ago.

• MS 70-452

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/cert-sql-server.aspx#tab1

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This thing is addressing problems that dont exist. Its solution-ism at its worst. We are dumbing down machines that are inherently superior. - Gilfoyle

• Henrico Bekker (3/23/2010)

MS 70-452

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/cert-sql-server.aspx#tab1%5B/quote%5D

I would go with this one as well.

Jason...AKA CirqueDeSQLeil
    Learn Extended Events

• Heh... a bit ironic... you lost your job to the recession and it was because the BI failed to begin with. 😉

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• Hi,

I have a question to ask.

Is MS-SQL certification required to qualify for MS-BI Certification as a prerequisite.

I wish to pursue a MS-BI certification.

Raunak J

• It is a different track. SQL Server certs are not a pre-requisite.