Best way to migrate data from 2005 to 2008R2 env

• Hi Guys,

I have this scenario. I have to migrate just the data from 2005 to 2008R2 env.

I tried to do backup/restore, however...the client wants just the data and not any objects...i.e...SPs, Functions, Views, etc....since they add/modify changes to the objects on the new(2008R2) env.

I was thinking another approach such as snapshot replication....this was I can pick and choose what I want to replicate, if I am thinking/reading replication correctly, so please let me know what you guys think as I am not an expert in replication.

Have anyone done this before/similar scenario? Any valuable suggestions will be much appreciated. Thanks.

Regards,
    SQLisAwe5oMe.

• If it's a one-time data move, the easiest is going to be to just do a restore. You can drop all the objects on the other side after the restore. You could set up mirroring or replication, sure. But that's a lot of work for a single data move. Exporting the data to flat files and importing it is probably less work and will get you to the same place. You can export the data structures first and migrate those in a SQL script so they're intact.

But I'd just go with the restore.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Grant Fritchey (1/12/2015)

If it's a one-time data move, the easiest is going to be to just do a restore. You can drop all the objects on the other side after the restore. You could set up mirroring or replication, sure. But that's a lot of work for a single data move. Exporting the data to flat files and importing it is probably less work and will get you to the same place. You can export the data structures first and migrate those in a SQL script so they're intact.

Hi Grant, thank for the reply...but I am not really getting everything you are saying.