Beginner: trying to understand when to use sql vs other tools

• Hi everyone, I hope this is the right community.

In my new position I’m pulling lots of sql reports. Other than BASIC sql, I’m use excel, powershell and python.

Right now I’m having trouble understanding when I should export my sql queries to one of those other tools, vs. is it possible for me to just do it all in sql?

For instance, I’m having a lot of trouble using variables because it seems my query ends up 8 miles long. Is it possible to derive a column based off another derived column without encasing another select extremely lengthy select statement?

Sometimes I just feel like pulling the base info and exporting to another tool makes more sense, but I’d like to of course pull as much as possible directly from sql.

Additionally just basic tips/tricks for finding relationships would be awesome. Again, I’m new to ssms and using tsql.

Any direction you could point me in would extremely helpful. Further, I’d be willing to pay $100 for an hour of anyones time if they can help with some of my (I think, basic) questions.

Thanks all!

• Your post is quite open-ended and there are many sub-questions. At this point, I will mainly address this point:

Is it possible to derive a column based off another derived column without encasing another select extremely lengthy select statement?

The principle in SQL is all-at-once. This means that the entire SELECT list is defined as a single operation. This means that, you cannot say:

SELECT A, A+9 AS B, B+C AS D FROM tbl

With B referring back to A+9. B refers to the column tbl.B, and if there isn't one. you get an error about a missing column. You need to write this as one of:

SELECT A, A+9 AS B, A+9+C AS D FROM tbl

; WITH CTE AS (
          SELECT A, A+9 AS B, C FROM tbl
    )
    SELECT A, B, B + C AS D FROM tbl

There are SQL products that violate the SQL standard in this regard, but SQL Server is not one of them.