Basic SQL Question

• I am new to SQL and I am having a hard time finding resources on a basic question.

I have two simple tables. I don't understand how to make the primary key and foreign key the same. The Primary key is an increment). If I were to add a record, it would say "sorry you cant insert nulls in the foreign key column VehicleID." Shouldn't the foreign key automatically be copied from the VehicleID in the Employee table to the VehicleID in the Vehicle Table? My goal is to add an employee to the database, and their vehicle info and have relationship between them. I am working in .NET (The Server Explorer Tool)

EmployeeTable:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[Employee] (
    [EmpoyeeID] INT IDENTITY (1, 1) NOT NULL,
    [FirstName] NVARCHAR (50) NULL,
    [LastName] NVARCHAR (50) NULL,
    [StartDate] DATE NULL,
    [VehicleID] INT NOT NULL,
    PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED ([EmpoyeeID] ASC),

CONSTRAINT [FK_VehicleID] FOREIGN KEY ([VehicleID])
    REFERENCES [dbo].[Vehicle] ([VehicleID])

VehicleTable:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[Vehicle] (
    [VehicleID] INT NOT NULL,
    [VIN] INT NULL,
    [Make] VARCHAR (50) NULL,
    [Model] VARCHAR (50) NULL,
    [Color] NVARCHAR (50) NULL,
    PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED ([VehicleID] ASC)
    );

• wait... this design is off.

Taking a step back... Can you explain the relationship between Person and Vehicle? Can one person own more than one vehicle? Can one vehicle be owned by more than one person at once? How you would model this in the database depends on how many Persons can own a single Vehicle and how many Vehicles a single Person can own.

• This reply was modified 4 years ago by  pietlinden.