Azure SQL database viewing security

• I am fairly new to Azure SQL database. Am I missing something or can you not view login and user properties, login/user mappings and database role membership in SSMS?

• Nope.    You can see some things in the Azure portal, otherwise it's a SQL Script.

Michael L John
    If you assassinate a DBA, would you pull a trigger?
    To properly post on a forum:
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/61537/

• OK thanks for confirming, but what's the rationale? It's infuriating.

• jontris wrote:

OK thanks for confirming, but what's the rationale? It's infuriating.

That's probably a question for Microsoft.

But, if you think about it, there is not really a server behind an Azure SQL database.  The security and logins are handled in each database separately.  Doing a right-click in SSMS requires connections to all of the databases.  It's not that easy I'm guessing.

Michael L John

• Logins are not really a thing in Azure. I mean, they are, but they're not. It's down to users at the database level. It's key to always think of the database, not the server, local stuff, not universal stuff. The real issue with SSMS is that it's designed to support on-premises SQL Server instances. It's support of Azure SQL Database is a little bit glued together. Not everything has made it into the GUI. T-SQL is your buddy.

If it makes you feel better, Azure Data Studio, the purpose built development tool in support of Azure SQL Database, doesn't have any of that either.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• To my kind respondents, thank you once again, but I think you're much too understanding towards Microsoft. Personally I'm not impressed.

• jontris wrote: