Average of Average in a matrix

• I've been using SSRS 2008 for about 7 months but am really struggling with how to calculate an average of an average in a matrix. I've read somewhere online about adding a function in the "subtotal" row which returns the average of the detail rows whilst at the same time incrementing a total and count. Another function placed in the "grandtotal" row =total/count. This works fine for a table, but gets more complicated in a matrix as I want the calculations to work for each column too. I've tried another function which tells me the column number and I am trying to pass that as a parameter as well as the average for the subgroup. I get a warning "Object reference not set to an instance of an object" when I try to run it and #Errors in the subgroup average box.

To give some context of what I am trying to do, I am looking at school report grades over several sessions and want to average the grades per student per subject per session then aggregate them into an average of the grades per student per session. I could have different numbers of grades for the subjects studied and don't want to give extra weighting to those subjects with more grades.

Thanks for your help.

Sue

• I have no other idea than the sum / count.

Have you considered calculating that 1st avg in the main select? That would take care of the ssrs challenge.

I know it's somewhat moronic to do the same base query twice on sql, performance wise as well. But hopefully it won't hurt the server too much.

• On futher investigation it seems that there are values that could be null in the column that I want to average. I set those values to null so that I could ignore them in the averages, but sometimes all the values to be averaged are null. I did try an average if not 0, but that didn't work either. Would a test of the count of the values being IsNothing or null or 0 or something and only running the code where a non null average is found solve my problem do you think?