Assigning some week numbers

• Hi,

I'm self taught SQL and stuck on a problem with trying to assign week numbers to a table.

I have a table that has columns Date, Day of Week, Week Number.

The date is a serial format that the application front end uses. Looks like at present:

Date DOW Weekno

76161MonNULL

76162TueNULL

76163WedNULL

76164ThuNULL

76165FriNULL

76166SatNULL

76167SunNULL

76168MonNULL

76169TueNULL

76170WedNULL

76171ThuNULL

76172FriNULL

76173SatNULL

76174SunNULL

What I want to do is assign weekn numbers, so the first Mon to Sun will be 1, the second Mon to Sun will be 2 and so on.

Can't think of an update statement to get this, any help greatly appreciated.

Matthew

• Looks like you're trying to build a calendar table.

You should add a column with datetime format to make it easier to recognize the date. You could do it by using a persisted computed column.

You might also consider searching this site for some code snippets regarding calendar tables (search string: calendar table, for example this link[/url] ).

One thing to notice regarding week_of_Year and day_of_week used in this code: the functions used will not result in the ISO week or the day_of_Week you might expect. See BOL (BooksOnLine, the SQL Server help system) for details.

Regarding date functions I also recommend Lynn's great blog post

Lutz
    A pessimist is an optimist with experience.

How to get fast answers to your question[/url]
    How to post performance related questions[/url]
    Links for Tally Table [/url] , Cross Tabs [/url] and Dynamic Cross Tabs [/url], Delimited Split Function[/url]

• Thank you for your reply.

I'm not building a calendar table. I'm calculating something which requires totals to be broken down into weeks. It could just as easily be blocks of numbers that have to be broken down into groups of 7. What I can't figure out is how to assign the first block of 7 the value 1, the second 2 etc.

Thanks,

Matthew