Artist or Scientist?

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Artist or Scientist?

• Whilst I imagine that most of us are not all one or the other, I find that like most I fit more into one category than the other. I am a scientist.

Over my time programming some people have derided me for taking the fun out of programming by expecting, nay, demanding that tests be written, that comments are made appropriately, that documentation is completed, that builds are not broken, that scripts are treated as code (commented, documented, tested, source controlled). I have a different perspective.

If we behave as scientists then that allows us room for flare, innovation and, yes, artistry. I imagine that this is exactly the same in other scientific fields as well. By following best practices and standards we allow our mental focus to shift to the challenges which fall outside of "the norm".

Gaz

-- Stop your grinnin' and drop your linen...they're everywhere!!!

• I probably count as both, too, but the distinction with me is that I'll take the "artist" approach for something that I know will only happen a few times--the extra effort of writing the automation doesn't make sense for something that isn't often going to be automated, IMHO!

• paul.knibbs (8/19/2014)

I probably count as both, too, but the distinction with me is that I'll take the "artist" approach for something that I know will only happen a few times--the extra effort of writing the automation doesn't make sense for something that isn't often going to be automated, IMHO!

Makes total sense.

Experience can indicate when a "one off" will likely become a BAU (Business As Usual) process. We can all make the wrong call and it will happen at times. There must be a recognition, if only internally, that if we cater for BAU that remains a "one off" then we may have wasted effort and if the "one off" becomes BAU then we risk the outcome of technical debt.

As with most things, it depends.