Am I Good At My Job?

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Am I Good At My Job?

• 'Half of us are below the average.' is a powerful statement. It reminds us to keep striving to get better.

• I love this topic! I'm more of a platform infrastructure person, but I've had to dip into data projects from time to time (which is why I subscribe to this newsletter). I don't consider myself a database person, but I've encountered more than one SQL Server DBA who appeared to have less knowledge about SQL Server than I do. I always assumed they were just coasting and didn't have a real interest in their career. But I also could have been assuming they had more experience than they did. Maybe they were only a year into their role and in my 20 years of working on small SQL projects, I've picked up as much as a more experienced DBA.

On the other hand, I started off as a Java developer my first year out of college and felt like a real fraud because my slightly more experienced colleagues seemed to have such a more solid grasp on the frameworks and design patterns than I did. I hope those colleagues were less judgmental about my lack of knowledge than I had been about those DBAs I met later in my career as I became more confident in my skills.

• From the Article:

That's a different standard, and while most people in surveys think they are better than average, that's not how averages work. Half of us are below the average.

Sorry but that's NOT how averages work either and if I've ever said they work that way, I'll apologize for that mistake now.