Allowing users to run SSIS packages remotely

• I am quite new to SSIS but managed to build a package which imports text files in to SQL. The text files are generated after users complete a manufacturing process on a machine.

The SSIS package is stored in the SSIS catalog and currently a SQL Agent tasks runs every evening to import new files that have been created during the day. Users have now requested the ability to run the import process as soon as they have finished their manufacturing runs as they may want to query the data to looks up stats etc.

What is the best way to do this considering all of the users are not SQL guys and wont have direct logins into the SQL Server or access to SQL Server Management studio. They will have access to the PC where the files are generated, so I ideally I need a batch file which they can just execute to import their new files.

I have seen lots of things on the web about running dtsexec but as the package is stored in the SSIS Catalog, how can I execute this remotely?

Thanks.

• One simple solution is to schedule the package to run frequently and process any files it finds. If it finds no files, it completes without doing anything.

Might that work?

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Phil's suggestion is simpler, but we do this at my workplace.

At the end of a MS Access process, we call a stored procedure that starts the job that calls the SSIS package. The only tricky thing is users have to be able to start jobs they aren't owners of. To do this, I had to add them to SQLAgentOperator role in msdb.

It sounds like you're halfway there since you already have the package and the job set up.

• lebraix (3/12/2015)

Phil's suggestion is simpler, but we do this at my workplace.