42% of 100% taken in clustered index insert

• I have a query which is primarily a victim of blocking and a blocker itself for other queries. I studied the plan for this and it shows a 42% cost on CI insert operation. The insert is happening on a table (Table A) that has a PK. This PK is not a running number. It is also a business key (primary key) in another master table (Table B).

My understanding is that the cost is heavy because -

1, this PK is not an incremental number. It could be any number not in a sequence.

2. while inserting into CI, there must be a scan happening to find out the location where the index will be inserted.

How can I reduce the cost?

1. Should I go for partitioning of this table Table A? I am trying to do this but I am not able to find any suitable partition key looking at the JOINS and filter clauses where this table is being used in the applicaiton.

2. Should I introduce a surrogate key (running number) as a primary key so that CI is faster ?

Pls advise.

• You are on the right track, it seems.

But you should note that the PK does not have to be clustered.

So you could easily convert your PK to nonclustered and introduce a clustered index on a column which is better suited (ie one which does not generate unnecessary page splits as a result of inserts).

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.