Zipping a Text file

• Hi

I need to Zip a text file so trying following command,

declare @cmd varchar(1000)

set @cmd='"\\Dell\Tessitura\Source\WinZip\winzip32.exe" -a "\\Dell\Tessitura\Source\sso_pacingdata.zip" "\\Dell\Tessitura\Source\sso_pacingdata.txt"'

select @cmd

EXEC master..xp_cmdshell @cmd

But I get error saying 'System can not find path specified'

Can anyone tell me what could be going wrong?

Thanks

Varsha

• If you run the same command in Command Prompt does it complete successfully? If yes, then the SQL Server service account might not have access to the path where the file is located.

Pradeep Adiga
    Blog: sqldbadiaries.com
    Twitter: @pradeepadiga

• Yes Pradeep, I created a batch file and it works fine from Command Promt. But that batch file doesn't work in SQL.

Zip file is in C drive, probably that is not accessible to SQL Server. Can you please tell me how to give access to the C drive? I'm not an expert in this field.

Thanks

Varsha

• Hi Varsha,

First make a note of the windows login which is starting SQL Server service (from the SQL Server Configuration Window)

Then logon to the server on which you need to copy the file and navigate to the folder. Right click on the folder and select Properties. Then add the account (from step 1) in the Securities tab and grant it sufficient privileges. Also add the login in the sharing tab and grant it permissions.

Pradeep Adiga

• All permission setup is done as per your suggestions but it still doesn't work. Now i feel may be my syntax is wrong.

Declare @cmd varchar(260)

Set @cmd = 'C:\"Program files"\WinZip\winzip32.exe \\Dell\Tessitura\Source\sso_pacingdata.zip \\Dell\Tessitura\Source\sso_pacingdata.txt'

select @cmd

EXEC master..xp_cmdshell @cmd

Is there any error in my script?

The batch file works correctly which has,

@Echo off

C:\WinZip\winzip32.exe -a "\\Dell\Tessitura\Source\sso_pacingdata.zip" "\\Dell\Tessitura\Source\sso_pacingdata.txt"

it works proerly from command prompt.