XQuery where clause with between operator question

• Hi Guys

I'm new to xquery and am wiritng a query to retrieve alot of data from a xml field. In the where clause I need to limit the query based on the follow up date which is contained in the element of the xml. How can I do this? Your help is greatly appreciated.

e.g. I tried this but it doesn't work. I know it's a simple question but I can't figure it out.

select *

from table

where [Case].[Xml].value('(/CustomerQuestions/Questions[@group="Followup"]/Question[@type="FollowupDate"]/Answer/@data)[1]', 'datetime') between '2011-01-01' and '2011-10-01'

Thanks

G

• I'd have to see the table definition and a sample of the XML in it before I could help much.

- Gus "GSquared", RSVP, OODA, MAP, NMVP, FAQ, SAT, SQL, DNA, RNA, UOI, IOU, AM, PM, AD, BC, BCE, USA, UN, CF, ROFL, LOL, ETC
    Property of The Thread

"Nobody knows the age of the human race, but everyone agrees it's old enough to know better." - Anon

• This was removed by the editor as SPAM

• Here is part of the xml - the whole xml field is massive so cannot provide it all

<CustomerQuestions>

<Question type="FollowupDate">

<Answer code="Text" data="2011-10-10" />

</CustomerQuestions>

PS> I'll try the xmlcolumn exist method too now - thanks

• Here's a sample of how to do it with the exist() function.

IF OBJECT_ID(N'tempdb..#T') IS NOT NULL

DROP TABLE #T ;

CREATE TABLE #T

(ID INT IDENTITY

PRIMARY KEY,

X XML) ;

INSERT INTO #T

(X)

VALUES ('<CustomerQuestions>

<Answer code="Text" data="2011-10-10" />

</Question>

</CustomerQuestions>'),

('<CustomerQuestions>

<Answer code="Text" data="2011-09-10" />

</Question>

</CustomerQuestions>') ;

SELECT *

FROM #T

WHERE X.exist('/CustomerQuestions/Question/Answer[(@data cast as xs:date?) ge xs:date("2011-01-01")

and (@data cast as xs:date?) lt xs:date("2011-10-01")]') = 1 ;