xp_cmdshell - System Cannot Find the Path Specified

• Dear Group:

This is my first attempt at using the xp_cmdshell command, but right now, I am trying to run it inside SSMS.  We need to create a procedure to unzip files so that we can import the data into our tables.  I am trying to use PKWare SecureZip to do this, as I have it installed on my local machine.

Here is the command I am attempting to run

EXEC master..xp_cmdshell 'C:\"Program Files"\PKWARE\PKZIPW\pkzipw.exe -extract=all S:\TestUnzipFolder\dataLog.txt.gz'

However, I am getting an error about :  "The system cannot find the path specified.".  I know the paths are valid, but is this command trying to execute SecureZip on the server and the error is saying the application is not installed on the SQL Server?

Or is there some other mechanism to extract zipped files that I could use other than this?

• ... but is this command trying to execute SecureZip on the server and the error is saying the application is not installed on the SQL Server?

Precisely this.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• When you run such code, everything is pretty much "server-centric" when it comes to drive letters.  For example, you're referencing the "C:" drive in your code... when that executes on the server, it looks at its own "C:" drive.  Of course, it can also use UNCs to point at shares and the login for either the SQL Server or SQL Server Agent needs to have the right privs on that share.