Why to stored procedures run slower from SQL Server Agent than through SSMS?

• Hi

Here's a question that has been bugging me for years. I've looked on various forums and the question has been asked numerous times but the answers are mostly waffle and don't provide any solid solutions.

I've been using SQL Server for over 10 years now, and I know for a fact that, whenever an overnight job fails and I need to get the information out there as quick as possible, it is quicker to run things via SSMS than re-run the job.

I've done this for many different processes on many different servers and it is always quicker in SSMS than SQL Server Agent.

The question is......why?

Maybe there is a configuration setting that controls what resources a job gets but I can't see this mentioned on any forums.

Anybody...?

Thanks

Col

• There's nothing fundamental that would cause SP's to run slower via a SQL Agent job than via SSMS. They certainly don't run under a different priority, but there could be some factors that make it do something different (e.g. you're running with different SET options, so they're hitting different cached plans).

The only other thing I can think is that if you have a lot of steps and msdb's over-running with job history (e.g. you've changed the default job history retention) and the selects/updates/inserts to msdb are what's taking longer.

It's certainly not a "fact" of all SQL installations. I've run with quite a lot over the years and never experienced this...