Why SQL Server?

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Why SQL Server?

• Heh... my goodness. Why would anyone consider being "stuck" in SQL Server being "stuck"? I actually gave up the front-end world (11 years ago) to work almost exclusively in SQL Server and haven't regretted that decision for even a split second.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• I work as a freelance developer (mainly .NET at the moment) so a large part of of that decision is taken away from me as it lies with my clients. Arguable, I agree to take on work that includes SQL Server elements, however, like many I have worked with Oracle, DB2 and various other database technologies (RDBMS and otherwise).

I prefer to work with SQL Server over the other technologies because I enjoy working on a well integrated stack that in the large part "just works" (troll away). There is plenty for me to remember and learn with each contract that to cover too many database technologies might be spreading myself too thinly and would be a disservice to my clients. I like the commonalities across the toolsets. It is also easier to switch between different versions of the same product compared to also having to switch between different products.