Why so fast .. or is it, why so slow?

• Hello,

As I am relatively new to SQL and still puzzling over some of the mysteries it offers up at times, I wonder if someone could explain in simple terms why I get the performance differential with a DELETE using different indexing strategies on both tables concerned.

Now I know that indexing tables can have an enormous effect on the performance of all sorts of SQL operations, but it's the following scenario that confuses me somewhat.

here's what I'm doing:

I have two tables, one called TempSales2 and the other called TempSales. Both tables have a column of type INT called RecID and I'm using this to DELETE rows from TempSales2 where the same RecID value does NOT exist in TempSales.

To achieve this, the following is the statement I am using:

DELETE FROM TempSales2

WHERE NOT EXISTS (SELECT 1 FROM TempSales

WHERE RecID = dbo.TempSales2.RecID);Now, originally I had only one index for either table and that was a UNIQUE index on the RecID column of the TempSales table. My reason for this was because I believed that the sub-query would greatly benefit if the RecID column value being passed from the DELETE statement from the TempSales2 table could be located much faster if the table being searched (I.e. TempSales) were indexed on its RecID column. My understanding is therefore that the DELETE statement is reading through an unordered table and executing the sub-query each time it reads a row and then the ReciD value is then compared within the sub-query. So, it's the sub-query that has to be fast.

In addition, I figured that as the table being deleted from (I.e. TempSales2) was not searched or ordered AND that having an index would slow deletion, that this table should remain unindexed.