Why Is This SQL Server Pivot Query Not Working?

• I'm using the following SQL query to return a table with 4 columns Year, Month, Quantity Sold, Stock_Code,

SELECT yr, mon, sum(Quantity) as Quantity, STOCK_CODE
    FROM [All Stock Purchased]
    group by yr, mon, stock_code
    order by yr, mon, stock_code

This is an example of some of the data BUT I have about 3000 Stock_Codes and approx 40 yr/mon combinations. Thus the full table has approx 20,000 rows!

Capture

I want to pivot this into a table which has a row for each SKU and columns for every Year/Month combination.

I have never used Pivot before so have done some research and have created a SQL query that I believe should work.

select * from
    (SELECT yr,
    mon, Quantity,
    STOCK_CODE
    FROM [All Stock Purchased]) AS BaseData
    pivot (
    sum(Quantity)
    For Stock_Code
    in ([4 2015]
    ,[5 2015]
    ,[6 2015]
    ,[7 2015]........
    )
    ) as PivotTable

This query returns the following table:

Capture

Whereas I want col1 to be Stock_Code and col2 to show the quantity of that stock code sold in 4 2015.

Would really like to understand what is wrong with my code above please.

• Your stock code is not [4 2015], that's the month and year. it's working, it's just that you aren't asking for what you want.

select * from
    (SELECT mon + ' ' + yr AS [YrMth],
    Quantity,
    STOCK_CODE
    FROM [All Stock Purchased]) AS BaseData
    pivot (
    sum(Quantity)
    For [YrMth]
    in ([4 2015]
    ,[5 2015]
    ,[6 2015]
    ,[7 2015]........
    )
    ) as PivotTable

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Please follow Best Practices For Posting On Forums to receive quicker and higher quality responses