Why is my SELECT query slower when the table is indexed?

• Hello,

I am new to SQL and am slowly llearning, so please forgive me if I ask a dumb question.

I was reading through a couple of articles on the web relating to indexes and where they should be used and why. OK, so I get the idea.

However, upon conducting some tests using a simple single column query (I can provide the query and underlying table structure if required) on a single table I was perplexed as to why the query ran faster when the table was completely unindexed.

Here's some stats to illustrate:

* Unindexed query = 23 seconds

* With primary key (not on SELECTed column though) took 44 seconds

* With index on SELECTed column took 32 seconds

Perhaps I'm missing something here, so would appreciate any help.

• Indexing tables is more of an art than a formula sometimes 🙂 Off the top of my head I'm thinking that the index has not been used enough to allow the SQL query optimizer to create the best execution plan for the query engine yet, and/or not enough statistics have been collected yet for optimum use of the index. I believe the number of columns, number of rows, and the selectivity of the indexed column's data also have a lot to do with it. If you have a very small table with few columns, and/or the data in the newly indexed column was already highly selectable (very unique) then you could see a degrading rather than an improvement.

*edit: Those are my immediate thought, anyway. Someone, please correct me if I have misspoken.

• raotor (11/3/2011)

Hello,

I am new to SQL and am slowly llearning, so please forgive me if I ask a dumb question.

I was reading through a couple of articles on the web relating to indexes and where they should be used and why. OK, so I get the idea.