Who is that masked man anyway?

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Who is that masked man anyway?

• I'm primarily a BI developer and the reason for using production data is to catch the edge cases the client forgot to mention. I once got to 98% of transactions classified within a week then spent three months trying to get the 2% that dropped out of the simulated data. That was still 1m+ records so very important for making the DW sum correctly.

• I'm a bit puzzled by the "if you really, really need to performance test" part. Who doesn't do performance tests before releasing something to production? It's a part of the development process.

• There is a third option than masking or simulation.

It is swapping.

Suppose you have customers A B C D E F G

and you swap them with G F E D C B A

Then the data doesn't represent the real data any more but the distribution is the same.

• Following on from the above approach, I am sure we could do effective masking by SQL scripting:

- Names, if we had a table of equivalent names we could use these as replacements, eg BERT JAMES SMITH --> BILL JIMMY SMITH

- Same thing for addresses, we could have tables of common town names and replace a valid name with another random valid name

- When replacing names and addresses, we should keep the replacement text the same length to avoid possible overflows

- Phone numbers and email addresses could be replaced by a random string of equivalent digits

- Account numbers could also be replaced by an equivalent random string.

I guess the problem is, some of these fields participate in PK/FK relationships so they would have to be kept consistent. Also from experience I know account numbers can end up in lots of different fields and it may not be easy to track these down.

But if done effectively, we should have a database that 'looks like' the production data, but the production data could not be recovered from it.

• Ed Wagner (10/22/2016)