Where am I at in my SQL DBA Career?

• I have been a SQL DBA for 3 yours now.. I do not have a degree or any certifications (But I am working on getting both).. But I am doing well supporting two production system 24/7 (1 TB ea.) and a bunch of smaller databases...

But where do I fall in the Jr. DBA / DBA / Sr. DBA scale?

• I think Jr.DBA

M&M

• itpcpro (5/26/2011)

I have been a SQL DBA for 3 yours now.. I do not have a degree or any certifications (But I am working on getting both).. But I am doing well supporting two production system 24/7 (1 TB ea.) and a bunch of smaller databases...

But where do I fall in the Jr. DBA / DBA / Sr. DBA scale?

Might be a little over junior.

What are your responsibilities? What task have you completed. What do you have experience in?

• What are your responsibilities? What task have you completed. What do you have experience in?

I am the only DBA for the Company so I have to correct what ever breaks. I install, backup, restore, create SSIS packages, troubleshoot, run performance monitors, run sql traces and what ever else happens to come along...

I have 11 years experience in the IT field starting out in Helpdesk and working my way up to SQL DBA... I have a little programming experience as well...

• have you faced any critical issues, such as corrupted databases or mission critical transactional databases that need PIT restoring?

do you have any experince in mirroring, clustering etc.,.?

• steveb. (5/26/2011)

have you faced any critical issues, such as corrupted databases or mission critical transactional databases that need PIT restoring?

No nothing critical.. no corrupted databases or PIT restores...

I do have a one replication server that I support... But no Log files shipping or mirroring... Most of our server (the big ones) are on our SAN...

• itpcpro (5/26/2011)

steveb. (5/26/2011)