What would be the apt certification?

• I graduated with a masters degree in Management and Information Systems. After that I have started working in the Business Intelligence wing of health domain company. My daily duties include creating reports with SS Reporting services. Primarily I write complex reports and create efficient stored procedures (Involves using SSMS to create tons of queries). I would like to advance my career further and I am looking for ways to improve my skill set. Is there any particular certification Microsoft or Non Microsoft that would aid me in improving my skills set? I have no experience as a DBA my work experience has been limited to Reporting and Analysis services alone? I would appreciate any advice in this respect.

I appreciate you taking time in answering my query.

• You dont mention which version(s) of sql server that you work with, but in your position I would be tempted to go for the microsoft certification that focuses on BI (Business Intelligence). Not being a DBA wouldnt stop you from taking the exams and it sounds like you have the experience.

MCTS: Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Business Intelligence Exam 70-445

MCTS: SQL Server 2008, Business Intelligence Development and Maintenance Exam 70-448

You can find out more on the microsoft site, or check out other topics in this forum where others have passed these exams.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [highlight]Recommended Articles on How to help us help you and[/highlight]
    [highlight]solve commonly asked questions[/highlight]

Forum Etiquette: How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help by Jeff Moden[/url]
    Managing Transaction Logs by Gail Shaw[/url]
    How to post Performance problems by Gail Shaw[/url]
    Help, my database is corrupt. Now what? by Gail Shaw[/url]