What to do about massive log file

• One of our old SQL Databases has a log file that has grown to almost 100GB. I have a process for shrinking logs, but this one is too big to do it on since it requires doing a Transaction log backup and there isn't enough space to do one. What can I do to kill this file. I really don't care about any of the data in it, just need it off the drive as it is rapidly running out of space. I'm a developer with just enough knowledge of SQL Server to get myself in trouble so I don't want to break anything.

Sean

• Since you've posted this in the SQL 7/2000 forums, I'll assume you are using one of those versions, so you should be able to truncate the log with this statement and then shrink it...

BACKUP LOG <db name> WITH TRUNCATE_ONLY

To stop it growing again, have a read of Gail's article on managing the transaction log...

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/64582/

• Or switch the database to simple recovery

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Ian Scarlett (9/30/2011)

Since you've posted this in the SQL 7/2000 forums, I'll assume you are using one of those versions, so you should be able to truncate the log with this statement and then shrink it...

BACKUP LOG <db name> WITH TRUNCATE_ONLY

To stop it growing again, have a read of Gail's article on managing the transaction log...

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/64582/

What does that do exactly? That drive is so low on space at the moment, I'm afraid of filling it up and breaking the systems that work off of it.

Thanks.

Sean

• Sean Grebey-262535 (9/30/2011)

What does that do exactly? That drive is so low on space at the moment, I'm afraid of filling it up and breaking the systems that work off of it.