What should be the daily routine of a ideal DBA

• What should be the daily routine of a ideal  DBA apart from all these

Watching SQL Server Logs.

watching event viewer.

Monitoring counter logs

Viewing trc file/trc report

Backup

• Make large cup of non-decaff coffee

I would put check backups first closely followed by check disk space and current server activity.

I have my SQL Servers email me with the results of the nightly maintenance plans and various counters.

Within Outlook I have various folders and rules that redirect the various server messages so I can see my SQL Server stuff vs the spam.

• I guess this all depends on the actual role.  I know that a lot of DBA's do a lot aside from just administration.

Things I check on a daily basis...

* Backups

* Scheduled Jobs

* Disk usage

* Event Viewer

* SQL Error Logs

* SQL Agent Logs

The company I work for have no internal application systems so there is no need for development as such.  As I am still new to the company, I spend the rest of my time trolling through the vendor database looking (and finding) potential bottlenecks and making recommendations for change.

Thats just a start.  I'm sure you'll get a lot more good advice on this post.

• Check Security bulletin boards.

Test new patches (if any) in test environment.

Planning for when things go wrong (as they will).

Writing scripts to make your job easier.

Testing/developing optimisations for frequently run queries.

Maintaining written server logs (to make sure that anyone can flick through to see what issues have come about and how they were fixed, or if they're liable to arise again).

Then there's the talking amiably with database users as and when possible. Having a friendly working relationship with them helps when things fall apart. People that like you are far more likely to be patient with you than ones you've leaned on hard.

• Believe it or not this happened to me the other day and this looks as good a place as any to post: