What is a DBA?

• I am wondering excatly what a DBA does? I have been a database programmer on SQL Server 2000 for over a year with some very light DBA duties (mostly in charge of making sure the backup jobs did not fail).

I was wondering excatly what a DBA does, and more importantly, how time consuming is the the job. In my position, I am not always busy, but I assume a true DBA is busy all of the time.

Any information would be very appreciated, seeing as how I want to go this route in my career, and stay away from application development (SQL Programming would be alright)

Thanks in advance,

Michael

• here have been a number of articles in SQL Mag which have attempted to define what a DBA does and more importantly the skills required. I'm sure you'd be able to find them on the sql mag web site.

Even a "true DBA" has some time to spare, e.g. to post on forums

[font="Comic Sans MS"]The GrumpyOldDBA[/font]
    www.grumpyolddba.co.uk
    http://sqlblogcasts.com/blogs/grumpyolddba/

• hahah. most DBA's have spare time while waiting for the server to catch up with them

DBA's do less programming, more planning, monitoring, optimising and under the bonnet stuff. A DBA should know their hardware/os/sql config, and sql commands off by heart. "Monitor, test, change" is the mantra.

SQL Enterprise Manager is a play toy, the real power comes from T-SQL. You need to be able to understand the complexities of HOW Sql server does what it does and WHY.

You need to know what data is in your database, where it comes from, how it gets in there, and how it is used, exported, read, accessed. Security and integrity of the system / databases.

DBA's sit closer to the "Systems" or IT Department, and much further away from the Developers. IE: you become one of the hated as opposed to one of the dreaded. Hahah.