What is a DBA???

• Hello DBA aficionados.

I have been in the IT dept of my place of employment for a few years and for over a year now I have really been the one to try to keep our database “afloat”. We do not have an official DBA. I found more of an interest in the databases as I began working on them than any other part of my IT position, IE.. Backups, Exchange, Firewall/security,networking, Windows 2000 administration etc... The Director saw my interest and allowed me to start working with the database and application developers to get an understating and develop my skills in SQL Programming, VB, and Web Development. All of which I have limited knowledge of. So far, I have set up a much needed Database Maintenance plan and reworked some stored procedures to make our databases more efficient. I am using Brian Kelly’s book to help with some performance issues. I am learning more about the code so that I can help on the programming changes that need to be made as well as hardware changes to make our database servers, applications and website run smoother. I guess I am being sort of a liaison between the IT/hardware side and the Development/programming side? I have taken the Microsoft SQL classes and am in the process of taking the more advanced VB classes. I know I have lots more to learn and your site has helped me tremendously with SQL. In about 6 - 9 months, I would like to propose to the Director about creating an official DBA position and of course “MOI” would like to fill that slot.