using XQuery

• I am a newbie using XML and XQuery and am having some problems getting the results that I expect. I have a table with an XML Column. The data being stored in the column is in this format (the xml tags have been replaced with square brackets for viewing purposes) :

[r]

[StringData cn="FirstName" v="Sarika" /]

[StringData cn="LastName" v="Agarwal" /]

[StringListData cn="Pets"]

[StringData t="Cat" /]

[StringData t="Dog" /]

[/StringListData]

[/r]

I'm trying to write a query to get the rows where the XML data is queried. I want to return all of the data for the row including the whole XML field. When I use the following query, I'm getting the rows back that have Sarika as the @v-2 value:

SELECT DataSetRowID as RowID, VersionPersistID, XMLValues

FROM tblDataSetValues

WHERE XMLValues.exist ('//StringData[@v="Sarika"]') = 1

But I really need to be able to query both values of an attribute, as follows:

SELECT DataSetRowID as RowID, VersionPersistID, XMLValues

FROM tblDataSetValues

WHERE XMLValues.exist ('//StringData[@cn="FirstName"] and //StringData[@v="Sarika"]') = 1

When I run this query, I get all of the records that have the @cn attribute equal to "FirstName" even if the @v-2 value does not equal "Sarika". It appears that it is not using the and as I expect it to.

I would appreciate any help you can provide.

Thanks!

Wendy Schuman

• This was removed by the editor as SPAM

• Maybe you already solved your issue. The following query works:

SELECT

DataSetRowID as RowID, VersionPersistID, XMLValues

FROM

tblDataSetValues

WHERE

XMLValues.exist ('//StringData[1][@cn="FirstName"]')=1 and XMLValues.exist('//StringData[1][@v="Sarika"]') = 1

OR XMLValues.exist ('//StringData[2][@cn="FirstName"]')=1 and XMLValues.exist('//StringData[2][@v="Sarika"]') = 1

• Thanks for your reply. I did get that to work as well, but we are trying to dynamically create the XMLValues.exist clause and pass it in to the stored procedure as one string.